Dax McCarty, Matt Polster Named to Provisional Roster for 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Gold Cup trophy

CHICAGO (June 3, 2017) – The Chicago Fire's Dax McCarty and Matt Polster have been named by U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Bruce Arena to the 40-man preliminary roster for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The U.S. have been drawn into Group B and will face Panama on July 8 at Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Martinique on July 12 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa and Nicaragua on July 15 at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland.

McCarty currently is in camp with the U.S. for their 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying matches against Trinidad & Tobago on Thursday, June 8 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. at 6:50 p.m. CT (FS1/UniMas/UDN) and Mexico at Estadio Azteca in Mexico City on Sunday, June 11 at 7:30 p.m. CT (FS1/Univision/UDN). McCarty has six career caps with the U.S. Men's National Team, most recently in a friendly played earlier this year on Feb. 3 against Jamaica.

Polster, named to the roster's pool of defenders, made 11 total appearances for the U.S. U-23s in 2015-16, including all five matches in the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship. The Las Vegas native took part in the annual January Camp with the senior side in 2016.

The Men in Red next take on Orlando City SC at Orlando City Stadium on Sunday (June 4) at 6:30 p.m. CT (FS1/Univision Chicago 1200AM).


GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)