RELEASE: Chicago Fire Forward Mike Magee Wins 2013 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player Award

CHICAGO, Ill. (December 5, 2013) – Major League Soccer announced today that Chicago Fire forward Mike Magee was voted the Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player for the 2013 season.

Today at approximately 4:30 p.m. CT, Magee will receive the award and be presented to media in the Kansas City area covering MLS Cup 2013.

Magee came to the Fire in a trade on May 25 from the LA Galaxy. In 22 games with the Men in Red, Magee scored 15 goals and tallied four assists. Prior to joining the Fire, Magee scored six goals with the LA Galaxy, bringing his season total to 21 goals, just one shy of Vancouver Whitecaps FC forward Camilo Sanvezzo, the 2013 MLS Golden Boot winner. Magee’s previous season-high was seven goals scored in his 2003 rookie season with the MetroStars.

The eleven-year MLS veteran earned his first career MLS All-Star nomination when he was named to the 2013 MLS All-Star Fan XI and faced Italian Serie A side AS Roma in July. Magee was recently named to his first career MLS Best XI.

Magee’s selection marks the fifth time a Fire player has been nominated for the award with the 29-year-old becoming the first player in club history to be named MLS MVP.

Magee, who was voted MLS Player of the Month by the North American Soccer Reporters (NASR) for the months of March and June, was also honored as the Fire’s 2013 MVP and Golden Boot winner, and had three game-winning goals and two game-winning assists for the Men in Red.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were LA Galaxy forward Robbie Keane and Montreal Impact forward Marco Di Vaio. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top four candidates:

Player (Club) % of Club Votes % of Media Votes % of Player Votes Weighted Total
Mike Magee (CHI) 34.69 37.33 26.79 98.81
Robbie Keane (LA) 22.45 24 12.11 58.56
Marco Di Vaio (MTL) 14.29 10.67 10.46 35.42
Tim Cahill (NY) 12.25 12 6.42 30.67


All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players
2013: Mike Magee (Chicago) 2004: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
2012: Chris Wondolowski (San Jose) 2003: Preki (Kansas City)
2011: Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United) 2002: Carlos Ruiz (LA Galaxy)
2010: David Ferreira (FC Dallas) 2001: Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami)
2009: Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) 2000: Tony Meola (Kansas City)
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus) 1999: Jason Kreis (Dallas)
2007: Luciano Emilio (D.C. United) 1998: Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United)
2006: Christian Gomez (D.C. United) 1997: Preki (Kansas City)
2005: Taylor Twellman (New England) 1996: Carlos Valderrama (Tampa Bay)