USMNT U20 Call Up 1920x1080

CHICAGO (Nov. 5, 2021) – Chicago Fire FC today announced that midfielder Brian Gutiérrez, goalkeeper Gabriel Slonina, and recently signed forward Missael Rodríguez were called to the U.S. U-20 Men’s National Team for the upcoming Revelations Cup in Celaya, Mexico, from Nov. 7-17. The three Fire Homegrowns will join the U.S. following the Club’s final match of the MLS season against the Columbus Crew on Sunday, Nov. 7.

The U-20s kick off tournament play against Brazil on Wednesday, Nov. 10, before facing Colombia on Saturday, Nov. 13 and closing out the tournament against host Mexico on Tuesday, Nov. 16. This will be the first training camp of the cycle as the team prepares for the 2022 Concacaf U-20 Championship, which will serve as qualification for not only the FIFA U-20 World Cup, but also the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris.

It will be the first U-20 camp for all three players. Gutiérrez and Slonina were both part of the U.S. U-16 Men’s National Team that captured the 2019 Nike International Friendlies title with a 3-2 comeback win against Turkey on Nov. 18, 2019. Gutiérrez helped kick off the comeback, assisting Moses Nyeman on the team’s first goal.

Slonina most recently was called in to the U.S. U-17 MNT for the UEFA Development Tournament in England in February 2020, which was the last time the U.S. Youth National Teams convened before the sports world shut down due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This marks the first U.S. Youth National Team call-up for Rodríguez, who recently became the 21st Homegrown singing in Club history. Rodríguez is the seventh Homegrown Player to sign with the first team since Jan. 2020.

U.S. U-20 Men’s National Team Revelations Cup Roster

GOALKEEPERS (2): Alexander Borto (Fulham/ENG.; South Plainfield, N.J.), Gabriel Slonina (Chicago Fire FC.; Addison, Ill.)

DEFENDERS (7): Justin Che (FC Dallas; Richardson, Texas), Jacob Greene (D.C. United; Crofton, Md.), Kobi Henry (Orange County S.C.; Lake Forest, Calif.), Jalen Neal (LA Galaxy; Lakewood, Calif.), Kayden Pierre (Sporting Kansas City; Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Casey Walls (Mill Valley, Calif.; San Jose Earthquakes), Caleb Wiley (Atlanta United F.C.; Atlanta, Ga.)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls; Wayzata, Minn.), Daniel Edelman (New York Red Bulls; Warren, N.J.), Jeremy Garay (D.C. United; Crofton, Md.), Daniel Leyva (Seattle Sounders F.C.; Las Vegas, Nev.), Diego Luna (El Paso Locomotive; Redwood, Calif.), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Middle Village, N.Y.), Rokas Pukstas (Hajduk Split/CRO; Stillwater, Okla.)

FORWARDS (6): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.), Brian Gutiérrez (Chicago Fire FC; Chicago, Ill.), Missael Rodríguez (Chicago Fire FC; Chicago, Ill.), Malick Sanogo (1. FC Union Berlin/GER; Berlin, Germany), Dante Sealy (PSV Eindhoven/NED; Frisco, Texas), Quinn Sullivan (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.)