mls is back tournament draw header

CHICAGO(June 11, 2020) – Major League Soccer announced today that Chicago Fire FC was drawn into Group A in the MLS is Back Tournament. The additional Eastern Conference teams drawn into Group A include Inter Miami CF, Nashville SC, New York City FC, Orlando City SC and the Philadelphia Union.

The Fire will face Inter Miami, Nashville SC and NYCFC in the group stage of the tournament. The tournament schedule, including specific matchup dates and full broadcast details, will be announced at a later date.

The groups were determined during a live draw on, Facebook and YouTube earlier today. All 26 MLS clubs were divided into six groups for the tournament. The Eastern Conference teams were divided into one group of six teams and two groups of four teams, while the Western Conference was divided into three groups of four teams.

MLS is Back Tournament Groups
Group A

Orlando City SC, Inter Miami CF, New York City FC, Philadelphia Union, Chicago Fire FC, Nashville SC

Group B

Seattle Sounders FC, FC Dallas, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, San Jose Earthquakes

Group C

Toronto FC, New England Revolution, Montreal Impact, D.C. United

Group D

Real Salt Lake, Sporting Kansas City, Colorado Rapids, Minnesota United FC

Group E

Atlanta United FC, FC Cincinnati, New York Red Bulls, Columbus Crew SC

Group F

LAFC, LA Galaxy, Houston Dynamo, Portland Timbers

MLS announced on Wednesday its plan to restart the 2020 season with all 26 MLS clubs competing in the MLS is Back Tournament at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resort in Florida beginning July 8. The tournament, which will be played without fans in attendance, provides a compelling way for MLS to resume its 25th season.

Each team will play three group stage matches, and those results will count in the 2020 MLS regular season standings. After 16 consecutive days of group stage matches, the top two teams from each group along with the four best third-place finishers will move on to the knockout stage. The knockout stage will include a Round-of-16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and the Championship match will take place on August 11. Matches tied at the end of regulation in the knockout phase will proceed directly to a penalty kick shootout.

The MLS is Back Tournament winner will earn a spot in the 2021 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League, regardless of whether it is a U.S. or Canadian club. The winner would replace the berth previously awarded to the MLS regular season points leader in the conference opposite of the 2020 Supporters’ Shield winner.

In addition to matches that count in the regular season standings and the Champions League berth, players will have the opportunity to earn additional bonuses as part of a $1.1 million prize pool.

For more information on the competition guidelines, click HERE.