mauricia pineda usa flag

Chicago Fire FC Defender/Midfielder Mauricio Pineda Named to U.S. U-23 Men’s National Team

CHICAGO (March 1, 2021) – Chicago Fire FC today announced that defender/midfielder Mauricio Pineda habeen called up to the U.S. U-23 Men’s National Team for a 31-player training camp ahead of the Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship. Players will report to a training camp in Guadalajara, Mexico, on Feb. 28 and a 20-player roster for the championship will be named ahead of the tournament. 

The Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship will take place March 18-30 in Guadalajara, Mexico, and will determine the representatives from the Concacaf region that will participate at the Olympic Games in Tokyo. The tournament was initially scheduled for March 2020, but due to the pandemic and the postponement of the Tokyo Summer Olympic Games, it was rescheduled for 2021. The U.S. is aiming to qualify for its first Men's Olympic Football Tournament since 2008.  

Pineda joins the U.S. U-23 MNT for the second time this year, after participating in the team’s January Camp and being subsequently elevated to the full USMNT for the 7-0 win against Trinidad & Tobago on Jan. 31. 

Drawn into Group A, the USA will open the Olympic Qualifying Championship on Thursday, March 18 vs. Costa Rica, face Dominican Republic on Sunday, March 21 and wrap up the group stage against Mexico on Wednesday, March 24. The top two teams at the Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship will advance to the Summer Olympics in Tokyo. 

U.S. U-23 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship Group A Schedule 

Thursday, March 18 – Jalisco Stadium 
USA vs Costa Rica, 4:00 p.m. CT 

Sunday, March 21 – Akron Stadium  
Dominican Republic vs USA, 6:00 p.m. CT 

Wednesday, March 24 – Jalisco Stadium 
Mexico vs USA, 8:30 p.m. CT 

U.S. U-23 MNT Training Camp Roster 

GOALKEEPERS (4): Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union; Wayne, Pa.), Jonathan Klinsmann (LA Galaxy; Munich, Germany), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes, Alamo, Calif.), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; Oxnard, Calif.) 

DEFENDERS (10): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; Lompoc, Calif.), George Bello (Atlanta United FC; Douglasville, Ga.), Marco Farfan (LAFC; Gresham, Ore.), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, Ariz.), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake; Las Cruces, N.M.), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution; New York, N.Y.), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire FC; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United FC; Arlington, Mass.), Austin Trusty (Colorado Rapids; Media, Pa.), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; Colorado Springs, Colo.) 

MIDFIELDERS (8): Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati; Santa Ana, Calif.), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids; Littleton, Colo.), Johnny Cardoso (Internacional/BRA; Denville, N.J.), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United FC; Federal Way, Wash.), Andrés Perea (Orlando City SC; Medellin, Colombia), Tanner Tessmann (FC Dallas; Hoover, Ala.), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers; Alexandria, Va.), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; Bloomington, Minn.) 

FORWARDS (9): Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Brooks Lennon (Atlanta United FC; Paradise Valley, Ariz.), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; Plantation, Fla.), Ulysses Llanez (Heerenveen/NED; Lynwood, Calif.), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC; Orlando, Fla.), Djordje Mihailovic (CF Montreal/CAN; Jacksonville, Fla.), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Sebastian Saucedo (UNAM Pumas/MEX; Park City, Utah), Sebastian Soto (Norwich City/ENG; San Diego, Calif.)