Schweinsteiger 2019 MLS All Star

Chicago Fire Defender Bastian Schweinsteiger Named to 2019 MLS All-Star Team

BRIDGEVIEW, Ill. – Major League Soccer announced Monday that Chicago Fire defender Bastian Schweinsteiger has been named to the Gameday Roster for the 2019 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. Schweinsteiger was selected to the roster by Orlando City SC and MLS All-Star Head Coach James O’Connor.

The MLS All-Stars are scheduled to face 10-time Spanish champions Atlético de Madrid on July 31 at Exploria Stadium in Orlando, Fla. The annual summer showcase will kick off at 7:00 p.m. CT and will be televised nationally on FS1 (English) and UniMás (Spanish). This year’s match will mark the 16th time that an elite international club has faced the MLS All-Stars.

In his first three seasons with the Fire, Schweinsteiger has been named to the MLS All-Star team on two occasions (2017, 2019). In 2017, the decorated defender captained the MLS All-Star team in its match against Real Madrid in front of a sold-out crowd of 61,428 fans at Soldier Field in Chicago. With this year’s recognition, Schweinsteiger becomes the 10th player in Club history to be named to an MLS All-Star Team on two or more occasions.

Since joining the Fire on March 21, 2017, Schweinsteiger has made 71 MLS regular season appearances (69 starts) and one playoff appearance. During that stretch, the German international has led the Fire in chances created (87) and assists (14). This season, Schweinsteiger has started in 16 of the team’s first 17 matches.

At the international level, Schweinsteiger has appeared in three FIFA World Cups with Germany (2006, 2010, 2014), winning the 2014 title. Additionally, Schweinsteiger, who earned 121 career caps for Germany, also made four appearances in the UEFA European Championships (2004, 2008, 2012, 2016).

Chicago Fire MLS All-Star History


MLS All-Stars

1998 Jorge Campos, Lubos Kubik, Zach Thornton, Chris Armas
1999 Zach Thornton, Lubos Kubik, Peter Nowak, Chris Armas, Roman Kosecki
2000 Zach Thornton, Chris Armas, Ante Razov
2001 DaMarcus Beasley, Zach Thornton, Diego Gutierrez, C.J. Brown, Jesse Marsch, Dema Kovalenko
2002 Carlos Bocanegra, Dema Kovalenko, DaMarcus Beasley
2003 Carlos Bocanegra, Chris Armas, DaMarcus Beasley, Ante Razov
2004 Henry Ring, Jim Curtin, Chris Armas, Damani Ralph
2005 Ivan Guerrero
2006 Nate Jaqua
2008 Cuauhtemoc Blanco
2009 Bakary Soumare, Wilman Conde, Cuauhtemoc Blanco
2010 Wilman Conde, Marco Pappa
2013 Mike Magee
2016 Brandon Vincent
2017 Nemanja Nikolić, Dax McCarty, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Johan Kappelhof
2019 Bastian Schweinsteiger