Chicago Fire All-Academic

Chicago Fire Announces 2015 Boys All-State All-Academic Team

CHICAGO (Nov. 17, 2015) – The Chicago Fire Soccer Club and the Illinois High School Soccer Coaches Association announced today the 2015 Boys All-State All-Academic team. These student athletes represent a group of talented, intelligent, hard-working and community oriented people.

“The Chicago Fire are pleased to recognize these young men for not only their athletic achievements, but also for their work in the classroom and in the community,” said Chicago Fire COO Atul Khosla.

Chosen from a pool of more than 100 nominees, this year’s First Team includes three valedictorians. Fifty percent of nominees scored 30 or higher on their ACT, with three students scoring a perfect 36 and nine students receiving a 35. Many of the players also gave back to the game of soccer, with 42 percent serving as soccer coaches and 47 percent serving as referees. Fifty two percent of nominees served as their team captains.

The First Team members will be honored at the IHSSCA Honors Banquet on Thursday, Nov. 19 at the Diplomat West Banquet Hall (681 West North Ave., Elmhurst, IL 60126).

All of the athletes on the teams will be recognized at a Chicago Fire game at Toyota Park in 2016. In addition to being recognized on the scoreboard during the game, these student athletes will be brought on the field after the game for a group photo. After that, they will take part in a private post-game autograph session.

2015 Chicago Fire Boys All-State All-Academic 1st Team:

Goalkeepers: Nathan Chalus – Glenbard North High School; Joseph R. Coryell – Meta Valley High School

Defenders: Luke Bauder – Lake Forest High School; Zane Kashner – Evanston Township High School; Cary Li – Stevenson High School;  Luke Moran – Oswego High School;  Dario Panici – Lincoln-Way West High School; Stephen Pierzchala – York High School; John Rudolph – Naperville Central High School; Douglas Smith – Neuqua Valley High School; Joshua Solarz – Lake Park High School; Joseph Son – Moline High School; Jonathan Suh – Wheaton –Warrenville South High School

Midfielders: Ryan Gudeman – Columbia High School; Jared Olson – Joliet Catholic Academy;  Ben Potter – North Shore Country Day School;  John Schlachtenhaufen – Lake Forest High School; Luke Sellers – Barrington High School; David Senk – Leyden High School; Lucas Sondgeroth – Illini Bluff High School; Jack Wernet – Notre Dame College Prep

Forwards:  Kurt Rodriguez – Freeport High School; Josiah Wieland – Peoria Christian High School

 2015 Chicago Fire Boys All-State All-Academic 2nd Team:

Goalkeepers:  Andrew Caldwell – Genoa Kingston High School; Sam Dumford – Downers Grove South High School

Defenders: Tim Bassuener – Marengo Community High School; Lucas Betts – Willowbrook High School; Mark Blessing – Downers Grove South; Jake Canfield – Crystal Lake South High School;  Arkam Cheema – Dunlap High School; Ryan Donovan – Meta Valley High School; Jack Hill – Fenwick High School; Andrew Lake – Fenton High School; Ryan Strelau – Downers Grove South High School; Matthew Treiber – Stevenson High School; Jason Votrain – O’ Fallon Township High School

Midfielders: Andersen Formolo – North Shore Country Day School; Jacob Koenig – O’ Fallon Township High School; Rohan Menon – William Fremd High School; Andy Pederson – Normal Community High School; Andrew Pierropoulos – Downers Grove South High School; Karl Rauschenberger – Elgin Academy;  Manuel Sida – Proviso West High School; Daniel Weber – Glenbrook South High School

Forwards: Brandon Burklund – Alton High School; Gianfranco Cali – Lake Park High School

2015 Chicago Fire Boys All-State All-Academic 3rd Team:

Goalkeepers:  Perry Adamopoulos – Glenbrook South High School; JT Henderson – Peoria Christian High School

Defenders:     Inaki Bascaran – Glenbrook South;  Nathan Carey – Batavia High School; Noah Engel – O Fallon Township High School; Matthew Hong – Vernon Hills High School; Daniel Hynes – Lake Park High School; Drew Klaus – Geneva Community High School; Nathan Lanter – O’ Fallon Township High School; Max Plesh – Neuqua Valley High School; Nick Seger – Normal Community High School; Lucas Semitka  - Antioch Community High School; Austin Taylor – Dunlap High School

Midfielders:    Seth Bornstein – Deerfield High School; Matt Cooke – Lincoln- Way North High School; Jack Eagan – Naperville Central High School; Peter Fish – Downers Grove South High School; Matthew Moderwell – Lake Forest High School; Josh Segatto – Rochester High School; David Snooks – Marist High School; Sam Wolf – Kaneland High School

Forwards:       Augustus Phelps - O’ Fallon Township High School; Steven Shore – Deerfield High School


2015 Chicago Fire Boys All-State All-Academic Special Mention Members:

Tyler Anstrand – Naperville Central High School; Johannes Aquino – Glenbrook South High School; Adam Becker – Columbia High School; Matt Benway – O’ Fallon Township High School; Anthony Canton – Beardstown High School; James Chen – Dunlap High School; Carl Damlos – Notre Dame College Prep;  Mark Dhom – Kaneland High School; Brian Galassini – Lincoln Way North High School; Dalton Handlin – Rochester High School; Thomas Hansen – Genoa Kingston High School; John Harrell – Columbia High School; Nicholas Hatfield – Alton High School; Logan Hobbs – Peoria Christian High School; Will Lawler – North Shore Country Day School;  Ruben Liogon – Dunlap High School; John Lynch – Metea Valley High School; Luke McClanahan – Columbia High School; Jaz Monahan – Charleston High School; Matt Mulica – Reavis High School; Griffin Overbeck – Downers Grove South High School; Anthony Passi – Lake Park High School; Michael Passi – Lake Park High School; Ari Patterson – Deerfield High School; James Perreault – Batavia High School; Jeffery Pratt – O’ Fallon Township High School; Kyle Rademacher – O” Fallon Township High School; Matthew Record – Deerfield High School; Sean Rickey – Columbia High School; Antonio Roselli – Carl Sandburg High School; Jacob Rueter – Waterloo Gibault Catholic High School; Will Schmetterer – Deerfield High School; Daniel Schuller – Downers Grove North High School; Christopher Schwaiger – Naperville Central High School; Michael Such – Deerfield High School; Ryan Thorsen – Main South High School; Simon Villegas – Niles West High School; Garrett Windau – Genoa-Kingston High School; Kaleb Woods – Williamsville High School