Juan Luis Anangono

Chicago Fire Defeat Indy Eleven 3-1 In Exhibition Match

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (April 1, 2014) – The Chicago Fire defeated Indy Eleven 3-1 Tuesday evening at the Boilermaker Soccer Complex on the campus of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Ind. First half goals from Lovel Palmer, Juan Luis Anangono and Chris Rolfe led the Fire to victory.
The Fire opened scoring in the sixth minute when Patrick Nyarko earned a corner kick after racing down the right flank. Rolfe drove in the ensuing corner and found Palmer, who out jumped his defender and headed it into goal to give the Men in Red the lead.
In the 24th minute Palmer whipped in a cross from the right and found Anangono at the top of the six-yard box. The Ecuadorian striker powered his header past Indy Eleven ‘keeper Kristian Nicht to double the lead.
The Fire would enter halftime up 3-0 when Victor Pineda, with a nifty backheel, laid the ball off for Rolfe, who slalomed past two defenders into the box and slid his right-footed shot around the ‘keeper and inside the far post.
Indy Eleven pulled one back in the 74th minute when they were awarded a penalty kick for a handball in the box. Fire ‘keeper Alec Kann correctly dove to his right but Kleberson’s shot was just out of his reach as the match ended 3-1.
Next up the Fire host the Philadelphia Union presented by Nicor Gas Energy Efficiency Program at Toyota Park on Saturday, April 5 at 4:00 p.m. CT (My50/TWCSC Wisconsin/La Ley). Tickets to the match are available via Ticketmaster and www.Chicago-Fire.com.
Chicago Fire 3 – 1 Indy Eleven
Chicago Fire: Kyle Reynish (Alec Kann 46’); Lovel Palmer (Benji Joya 74’), Patrick Ianni, Chris Ritter, Marco Franco (Dasan Robinson* 35’); Patrick Nyarko (Giuseppe Gentile 60’), Logan Pause ©, Victor Pineda, Dilly Duka; Chris Rolfe (Orr Barouch 60’), Juan Luis Anangono
*Guest Player
Indy Eleven:
Kristian Nicht; Chris Estridge, Jaime Frias (Andrew Stone 78’), Erick Norales, Kyle Hyland; Brad Ring (Dylan Mares 81’), Corby Moore (Kevin Rozo 87’); Mike Ambersley, Pedro Mendes (Kleberson 46’), Walter Ramirez (Don Smart 58’); Ben Spencer (AJ Corrado 46’)
Subs not used: Jon Dawson, Nathan Sprenkel, Chris Wey, Baba Omosegbon
Scoring Summary
CHI – Lovel Palmer (Chris Rolfe) 6’
CHI – Juan Luis Anangono (Lovel Palmer) 24’
CHI – Chris Rolfe (Victor Pineda) 44’
IND – Kleberson (penalty kick) 73’
Misconduct Summary:
IND – Pedro Mendes (caution) 19’
CHI – Chris Ritter (caution) 62’
IND – Brad Ring (caution) 76’