US National Team

Three Chicago Fire Players Called Up to U-15 U.S. Boys’ National Team for 2019 Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship

Call-up graphic

BRIDGEVIEW, Ill. (July 25, 2019) – U.S. Soccer today announced that Chicago Fire goalkeeper Gabriel Slonina and Fire Academy players Justin Reynolds and Allan Rodriguez have been called up to the U-15 U.S. Boys’ National Team for the 2019 Concacaf U-15 Boys’ Championship. Set to occur from July 31 – August 12, 2019, the Concacaf Championship will be held at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla. 

Drawn into Group B, the United States will open the tournament against Haiti on Aug. 4 at 8:00 a.m. CT. On the following day, the U.S. will take on Guatemala at 8:00 a.m. CT, before closing out the group stage against Suriname on Aug. 7 at 10:00 a.m. CT. The team’s matches will be streamed by Concacaf and will be open to the public.

Slonina, who joined the Fire’s First Team on March 8, 2019, is the youngest Homegrown Player in MLS history. He has appeared in all six events in the 2018-19 U-15 USBNT cycle.

Reynolds, the younger brother of Fire defender Andre Reynolds II, was named to the U-15 Boys’ National Team roster for three international friendlies against Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Serbia in May 2018. Additionally, Reynolds was named Player of the Tournament at the 2018 BellSport Tournament in Zakopane, Poland. The Fire’s U-15 Academy team were crowned champions of the tournament after going undefeated without allowing a single goal across 10 matches.

Rodriguez made his international debut with the U-15 USBNT in May 2018 and played against Bosnia and Herzegovina and Serbia. Most recently, Rodriguez was called up to the U-15 USBNT for the Torneo delle Nazioni in Gradisca, Italy in April 2019. 

2019 Concacaf U-15 Boys’ Championship Roster by Position (Club; Hometown)

GOALKEEPERS (2): Damian Alguera (De Anza Force; San Jose, Calif.), Gabriel Slonina (Chicago Fire; Addison, Ill.)

DEFENDERS (6): Armando Avila (LAFC; Torrance, Calif.), John Carlos Cortez (New York Red Bulls; Ridgewood, N.J.), Antonio Leone (LAFC; Long Beach, Calif.), Angel Martinez (Seattle Sounders FC; Everett, Wash.), Justin Reynolds (Chicago Fire; Chicago, Ill.), Devan Tanton (UE Cornella/ESP; Barcelona, Spain)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Kenan Hot (New York Red Bulls; Lincroft, N.J.), Allan Rodriguez (Chicago Fire; Elkhart, Ind.), Rokas Pukstas (Sporting Kansas City; Stillwater, Okla.), Evan Rotundo (San Diego Surf; La Mesa, Calif.), Victor Valdez (LA Galaxy; Santa Ana, Calif.), Aethan Yohannes (AZ Alkmaar/NED; Springfield, Va.)

FORWARDS (4): Osvaldo Cisneros (Sporting Kansas City; Omaha, Neb.), Rafael Jauregui (Sacramento Republic FC; Rancho Cordova, Calif.), Federico Oliva (Atletico de Madrid/ESP; Madrid, Spain), Christian Torres (LAFC; Fontana, Calif.)