Lineup Notes | Chicago Fire FC vs CF Montréal

StartingXI_Home_16x9 (1)

Chicago returns to the lakefront to host CF Montréal this afternoon as the Fire celebrates Kids Day at Soldier Field. Kickoff is slated for 1 p.m. CT on MLS Season Pass. The match will also be transmitted locally in Chicago via in English and WRTO 1200 AM in Spanish.

The Fire holds a 6-3-3 record at home against Montréal, which is playing its fourth game on the road to start the 2024 season. Montréal heads to Chicago sitting in second place in the Eastern Conference after consecutive victories against FC Dallas and Inter Miami CF. 

If the team can secure its first victory in its second home match of 2024, Head Coach Frank Klopas could become the third coach in Club history to register 50 wins, alongside Bob Bradley (82) and Dave Sarachan (55).

  • Coach Klopas will face his former club using the same lineup from the team’s previous match against Columbus.
  • Goalkeeper Chris Brady mans the net for the fourth-straight match of 2024, and the 35th of his career.
  • Defenders Chase Gasper and Tobias Salquist start their second-straight game, while Rafael Czichos and Allan Arigoni earn their fourth-consecutive start of the season.
  • Brady, Arigoni and Czichos have played the full 90 minutes in the Fire’s three games so far this season.
  • Midfielder Fabian Herbers scored his second goal of the season against Columbus in the previous match. With the start tonight, Herbers makes his 126th appearance with the Fire.
  • Midfielder Kellyn Acosta earns his third-consecutive start for Chicago, playing his 256th career Major League Soccer match.
  • Captain Xherdan Shaqiri, midfielders Brian Gutiérrez and Maren Haile-Selassie, and forward Hugo Cuypers start their fourth-consecutive match together of the 2024 MLS regular season. 
  • Forward Victor Bezerra (upper leg), midfielder Federico Navarro (upper leg) and defender Andrew Gutman (upper leg) will not be available for today’s match.
  • Available off the bench for Coach Klopas are goalkeeper Spencer Richey, defenders Arnaud Souquet, Carlos Terán, Jonathan Dean, defender/midfielder Mauricio Pineda, midfielders Gastón Giménez and Chris Mueller, and forwards Georgios Koutsias and Tom Barlow.