Lineup Notes | Chicago Fire FC at New York Red Bulls


Chicago goes from the lakefront to the Hudson River to face the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff against the No. 1 team in the Eastern Conference is set for 6:30 p.m. CT and will be broadcast globally on MLS Season Pass.The match will also be transmitted locally in Chicago via in English and WRTO 1200 AM in Spanish.

Klopas recently led his team to a 2-1 win against the defending Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup champion Houston Dynamo, with goals from Xherdan Shaqiri and Brian Gutiérrez leading the team to earn full points at Soldier Field.

New York is off to a hot start under head coach Sandro Schwarz, with a 4-1-2 record and zero losses at home so far this regular season.

  • Chicago Head Coach Frank Klopas will use the same starting lineup that defeated the Houston Dynamo last Saturday at Soldier Field.
  • Defender Arnaud Souquet and midfielder Chris Mueller start their second-straight matches of the season. Mueller will play his 151st MLS regular season match against the New York Red Bulls.
  • Captain Xherdan Shaqiri returns to the starting lineup, starting his 55th regular season match for the Fire. Shaqiri scored his second goal of the season against Houston, opening the scoring with a precisely taken penalty kick in the 10th minute.
  • Goalkeeper Chris Brady starts in the net for the eight time this season, having only missed one game due to international duty.
  • Defenders Rafael Czichos and Allan Arigoni, midfielder Maren Haile-Selassie and forward Hugo Cuypers start their eighth-consecutive match together. Czichos is the only player to have played the full 90 minutes in all of the Fire’s seven previous matches this season.
  • Defender Tobias Salquist returns to the XI to earn his fifth start of the season.
  • Midfielders Kellyn Acosta and Fabian Herbers start in the midfield together for the seventh time this season.
  • Defenders Chase Gasper (upper leg) and Andrew Gutman (upper leg) are unavailable for today’s match.
  • Available off the bench for Coach Klopas are goalkeeper Spencer Richey; defenders Jonathan Dean and Carlos Terán; defender/midfielder Mauricio Pineda; midfielders Gastón Giménez, Brian Gutiérrez and Federico Navarro; and forwards Tom Barlow and Georgios Koutsias.