US National Team

Chicago Fire FC Midfielder Djordje Mihailović Named to U.S. U-23 MNT Roster for Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying

djordje mihailovic celebration

CHICAGO (March 8, 2020) – Chicago Fire FC announced today that midfielder Djordje Mihailović has been named to the U.S. U-23 Men’s National Team roster that will compete in the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament. The tournament will take place from March 20-April 1 in Guadalajara, Mexico, and will determine the teams that will represent Concacaf at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan this summer.

Mihailović returns to the U.S. U-23 MNT after being a consistent presence on the team in 2019. Mihailović notched starts for the U-23s against Egypt (March 22, 2019) and the Netherlands (March 24, 2019), before captaining the team in its 2-0 friendly win over Japan on Sept. 9, 2019, at the Chula Vista Elite Athletic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif.

At the senior team level, the midfielder earned five caps under Head Coach Gregg Berhalter in 2019, including two appearances in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup.

The U.S. is aiming to qualify for its first Men's Olympic Football Tournament since 2008. Drawn into Group A, the USA will open the Olympic Qualifying Championship on Friday, March 20 vs. Costa Rica, face Dominican Republic on Monday, March 23 and wrap up the group stage against Mexico on Thursday, March 26. The top two teams at the Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship will advance to the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo.

Concacaf Olympic Qualifying Championship – USA Roster by Position (Club; Hometown):

GOALKEEPERS (3): Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union; Wayne, Pa.), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes; Alamo, Calif.), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; Oxnard, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (6): Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas; Grapevine, Texas), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, Ariz.), Chris Gloster (PSV Eindhoven/NED; Montclair, N.J.), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake; Las Cruces, N.M.), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; Bear, Del.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Austria Wien/AUT; Lee’s Summit, Mo.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United; Federal Way, Wash.), Richard Ledezma (PSV Eindhoven/NED; Phoenix, Ariz.), Djordje Mihailović (Chicago Fire; Lemont, Ill.), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas; Highland Village, Texas), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; Bloomington, Minn.)

FORWARDS (5): Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers; Bethesda, Md.), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; Plantation, Fla.), Ulysses Llanez (Wolfsburg/GER; Lynwood, Calif.), Sebastian Saucedo (UNAM Pumas/MEX; Park City, Utah)