Sean Johnson
USA Today Sports Images

Sean Johnson To Join U.S. Men’s National Team In Advance of USA vs. Mexico Match

CHICAGO (March 26, 2014) – The Chicago Fire Soccer Club announced Wednesday that goalkeeper Sean Johnson has been selected by U.S. Men’s National Team Head Coach Jurgen Klinsmann to train in Phoenix in advance of the USA vs. Mexico match, presented by AT&T, on April 2 at University of Phoenix Stadium at 10 p.m. CT (ESPN/UniMas).
This is the United States’ final match before the start of the 2014 FIFA World Cup preparation camp.
A Lilburn, Ga. product, Johnson made his international debut Jan. 22, 2011 against Chile at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. Johnson earned his first start for the U.S. Men’s National Team and earned the shutout in a 0-0 draw with Canada at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas Jan. 29. The 24-year-old ‘keeper has been capped four times and last summer competed in the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup, earning the shutout in the 1-0 win against Costa Rica on July 16 in the final group match of the tournament. The U.S. would go on to defeat Panama 1-0 in the final, winning the Gold Cup for the fifth time.
Johnson most recently participated in the annual January training camp at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. from Jan. 6 – Feb. 1.
Joining Johnson in Arizona will be Fire Goalkeeping Coach Aron Hyde, who has been invited as a guest coach for the camp.
GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julian Green (Bayern Munich),
Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)