It all began with a legend. On the 126th anniversary of the Great Chicago Fire, October 8, 1997, an announcement was made. The new Major League Soccer team assigned to Chicago would be called the Chicago Fire. Its inaugural season would be in 1998.

Click the dropdown menu below for season capsules recapping all 21 seasons in Major League Soccer.

Year-By-Year Season Recaps