What is the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup?

Recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

Chicago Fire U.S. Open Cup History

Since 1998, the Fire have compiled an impressive 42-14-6 record in Open Cup play and 26-1-1 in matches played in the state of Illinois, reaching the semifinal round 11 out of 17 times and the final six times. The Fire have previously hoisted the coveted Dewar Trophy four times, in 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2006. The 2006 title marked the ninth time a team from Chicago won the Open Cup and made the Fire one of six teams to capture the crown at least four times in the tournament's 100-year-long history.