Fire PDL


The Chicago Fire PDL side has been one of the most successful franchises in the United Soccer Leagues Premier Development League since joining the league in 2001 as the Chicago Fire Reserves. Over nine years of play, the team has had an evolution of name changes going to the Chicago Fire Premier in 2004. While the names have changed, the constants for the Chicago Fire Premier's PDL side have stayed the same, as the team has stamped its dominance on the league, compiling a 126-22-22 regular season record while helping to send 83 players into the professional ranks.

In May 2010, former Fire PDL players Jay DeMerit, Ricardo Clark, Jonathan Spector and Brad Guzan joined former Fire First Teamers Carlos Bocanegra and DaMarcus Beasley on the U.S. Men's National Team roster for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. DeMerit and Clark both played in the tournament, helping the U.S. to it's first group championship since 1930 and the team's fourth advancement to the knockout stage of the tournament.

In 2012, the Chicago Fire PDL side shifted its philosophy from bringing in some of the best college players from around the country to focusing on further development of Academy alumni. Current Fire first teamers Harry Shipp and Chris Ritter are both former Fire PDL players.

Some of the team's accomplishments in the past eleven seasons include:

  • USL record 9-straight playoff appearances (2001-09)
  • 7 Division titles (2001-06, 2008)
  • 14 All-USL players
  • Highest winning percentage (.741) of all North American teams since 2001
  • 2 PDL North American Championship matches (2003, 2009)
  • 2 PDL Central Conference Championships (2003, 2009)
  • 5 appearances in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup (2004-05, 2009, 2011-12)
  • Became just the third PDL team to go undefeated during the regular season, recording a 17-0-1 record in 2004
  • 8 former players with US National Team caps (Ricardo Clark, Jay DeMerit, Brad Guzan, Eric Lichaj, Drew Moor, Tim Ream, Chris Rolfe, Jonathan Spector)
  • 4 former players with foreign international caps (Gavin Glinton - Turks & Caicos, Vedad Ibišević - Bosnia & Herzegovina, Omar Jarun - Palestine, Pascal Millien - Haiti) 
  • 83 former players moving to the professional ranks both in the USA and Europe 
  • A USL Premier Development League record of 11 players selected in a single MLS SuperDraft, coming during the 2012 selection process


The Chicago Fire Premier Super-20 team was formed in 2007. Providing the opportunity for the top 17-20 year-old players in North America to play high-level competition in the summer months.

  • Two-time North American champions 2008 (Virginia Beach, VA) and 2012 (Bradenton, FL)
  • 2007 North American Super-20 Runners-up (Epping, NH)
  • Two-time North American semifinalist 2009-2010 (Rockford, IL)
  • 32-2-3 Regular Season record (2007-10)
  • 42-4-4 Overall Record -- Regular Season and North American Finals (2007-10)
  • 2007 North America Super 20 Coach of the Year (Larry Sunderland)
  • Six Super-20 All-League Selections
  • 3 Super-20 League North American Finals MVPs: Robert Younger, Mark Blades and Felipe Cortez