2015 Aldi Chicago Fire Goal of the Year

With the 2015 Chicago Fire season in the books, we asked fans to select the 2015 Aldi Chicago Fire Goal of the Year.

Eight nominated goals were chosen from 2015 MLS regular season and Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup contests and randomly paired for head-to-head quarterfinal matchups. From there, Fire fans voted each day for their winner until defender Lovel Palmer emerged as the champion after a final matchup with 2014 winner Patrick Nyarko. Palmer scored his only goal of 2015 in a U.S. Open Cup Round of 16 win over the Charlotte Independence, burying a left-footed laser from 30+ yards for the go-ahead goal in a 3-1 Fire victory.

Click here to watch a compilation of all 50 goals scored by the Chicago Fire in the 2015 season.

Palmer joins the ranks of Chicago Fire Goal of the Year champion along with previous winners Logan Pause (2010), Jalil Anibaba (2011), Chris Rolfe (2012), Daniel Paladini (2013) and Patrick Nyarko (2014).

Thursday, Oct. 29 Quarterfinal 1 J. Johnson at CLB (5/22) vs. Gilberto vs. RBNY (10/25)
Friday, Oct. 30 Quarterfinal 2 Palmer vs. CLT (6/30) vs. Larentowicz vs. TFC (4/4)
Monday, Nov. 2 Quarterfinal 3 J. Johnson vs. SEA (7/11) vs. Accam at RBNY (9/11)
Tuesday, Nov. 3 Quarterfinal 4 Igboananike vs. PHI (8/16) vs. Nyarko vs. RBNY (8/26)
Wednesday, Nov. 4 Semifinal 1 Gilberto vs. RBNY (10/25) vs. Palmer vs. CLT (6/30)
Thursday, Nov. 5 Semifinal 2 J. Johnson vs. SEA (7/11) vs. Nyarko vs. RBNY (8/26)
Friday, Nov. 6 Championship Match Palmer vs. CLT (6/30) vs. Nyarko vs. RBNY (8/26)
Monday, Nov. 9 Winner Lovel Palmer vs. Charlotte Independence (6/30)